@Bishop_Llandaff

14:47 PM - 25 May 2018

We hope students have a relaxing half term and we look forward to welcoming you back to school on Monday 4th June (Week A)

14:46 PM - 25 May 2018

Please find the link below to our updated Year 11 GCSE revision timetable for sessions going on during this half term break https://t.co/x5cUuub4Bk

21:30 PM - 24 May 2018

Many congratulations to students. Special recognition to Mr Ward and staff who coordinate the programme for so many students https://t.co/lIsj02PLI4

16:08 PM - 24 May 2018

Please find the link below to our updated Year 11 GCSE revision timetable for sessions going on during this half term break https://t.co/xJ6bNrf6ml

07:32 AM - 24 May 2018

A reminder that we break up for half term on Friday 25th May. However, please follow the link for revision sessions next week https://t.co/WPDqORpNkb

07:15 AM - 18 May 2018

Today (18th May) is our Civvies Day to support Christian Aid. We thank you in advance for your generous support

http://www.twitter.com/Bishop_Llandaff/status/997074204850884609

12:19 PM - 17 May 2018

Well done to Gwilym (Year 7) for his fantastic piece on 'How we share stories', the winning piece entered into the competition with . Thank you to for our fantastic new books and vouchers https://t.co/hClqDzKper https://t.co/vpsvbiMjBc

08:23 AM - 11 May 2018

Our Civvies Day is on Friday 18th May in support of Christian Aid (and part of Christian Aid Week!). We thank you in advance for your generous support

08:21 AM - 11 May 2018

A reminder: Christian Aid week, starts next week, 13th May. Envelopes to be returned to school by 17th May. We thank you in advance for your generous support https://t.co/KzpjP2lwbB

14:41 PM - 8 May 2018

A reminder that Year 8 Parents' Evening is tomorrow, Wednesday 9th May, from 3.20pm. We look forward to welcoming all parents/carers

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.