@Bishop_Llandaff

17:15 PM - 25 Nov 2020

Retweetd From Bishop of Llandaff

We recognise that many families are under financial pressures at the moment. In Cardiff, you can apply for free school meals by completing the form accessed via the following link https://t.co/JkqLjDoamx

15:46 PM - 25 Nov 2020

We recognise that many families are under financial pressures at the moment. In Cardiff, you can apply for free school meals by completing the form accessed via the following link https://t.co/JkqLjDoamx

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1331343519974354947

21:06 PM - 24 Nov 2020

We are looking for a talented teacher of mathematics to join us in September 2021. Click on the link for details https://t.co/i8MNr5AYVP https://t.co/VGqL5nWESD

16:21 PM - 19 Nov 2020

Please follow the link below to access our virtual Sixth Form Open Evening via the school website https://t.co/6cgJRCunGJ

21:26 PM - 18 Nov 2020

There is still time to apply for a place in our Year 7 cohort for September 2021. Details available on our website. Deadline for application is Monday 23rd November at 12.00pm

16:17 PM - 18 Nov 2020

Our virtual Sixth Form Open Evening presentation will be available from tomorrow evening, Thursday 19th November. Further details can be found by following the link below https://t.co/lAfIL2tZq6

14:11 PM - 17 Nov 2020

Retweetd From BOLHS_6Form

Congratulations to Ammar Osman, Ella Turner, Hannah Whitfield, Shiqi Lin and Ewan Chadwell for winning ‘Best Energy Appreciation’ Award as part of the EESW (Engineering Education Scheme Wales) which was completed as part of their Sixth Form Enrichment 2019-20

17:51 PM - 13 Nov 2020

Thank you to all students and families for your contribution to our fundraising events today. Over £1200 raised so far. There’s still time to make a contribution via ParentPay or the school office

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1326898480619671559

14:43 PM - 12 Nov 2020

Friday 13th November is civvies day in aid of Children in Need . We kindly ask that students and staff wishing to participate donate £1. There will be events throughout the day, including a virtual duck race! https://t.co/066w3ZPip6

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.