@Bishop_Llandaff

16:21 PM - 19 Nov 2018

Tomorrow, Tuesday 20th November, is Pray for schools day. There will be prayer cards made available for students and staff wishing to write a prayer for someone/something important to them

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1063444473022164993

14:51 PM - 16 Nov 2018

Thank you to all staff and students who contributed to all our activities today in aid of . Congratulations to the winners of today's prizes https://t.co/CpVQn5QXwC

12:43 PM - 15 Nov 2018

Civvies day is on Friday 16th November to raise money for Activities on the day include ‘name the ted’ and guess the number of sweets in a jar. 50p per go. We ask that students bring change (rather than notes) to make involvement in games simple and enjoyable

14:26 PM - 13 Nov 2018

We are looking for a talented teacher of Design Technology (textiles specialist) to join the team on a temporary basis to cover a maternity leave. Click for details https://t.co/4Jy85AbCWA

13:06 PM - 13 Nov 2018

Thank you to everyone for their support at the doughnut sale last week https://t.co/x0Tc2r1u0f

21:54 PM - 12 Nov 2018

We are looking for an exceptional teacher of ICT to join our team as our new head of department. Click for details https://t.co/FRQXZKbiCb

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1062003856744288256

15:27 PM - 12 Nov 2018

After winning resources from and , our reading club has enjoyed completing activities and taking part in a special animal scavenger hunt to celebrate World Poetry Day and the 1st anniversary of https://t.co/Ucn9zYPbbG

11:33 AM - 12 Nov 2018

Friday 16th November will be 'Civvies Day' in aid of BBC Children in Need . We thank you in advance for your generous support

16:13 PM - 9 Nov 2018

Reminder there will be a GCSE Maths revision session tomorrow, Saturday 10th November, from 9am-1pm https://t.co/AokJg3Pnix

13:11 PM - 8 Nov 2018

We are looking for a physical education specialist to lead the department from January 2019 or as soon as possible thereafter. For details follow the link https://t.co/Lj6D9nLmY8

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.