@Bishop_Llandaff

20:07 PM - 26 Feb 2021

On Monday 1st March at 6.00pm, we will be hosting a qualifications ‘live event’ to brief Year 10, 11, 12, 13 students and their families on our plans for the coming weeks/months. A link has been sent via email but If you have not received this then please contact Miss Pucknell

14:35 PM - 25 Feb 2021

We are looking for a teacher of English (maternity leave) to join us in September 2021 https://t.co/2o8ub9ZYFg

20:57 PM - 24 Feb 2021

Retweetd From Marc Belli

The link to our ‘Qualifications’ Live Event, which will be held on Monday 1st March at 6.00pm, has been emailed to our families/students of Year 10, 11, 12 and 13. We look forward to welcoming you

13:36 PM - 24 Feb 2021

Reminder that our Head of School's Open Door will be held on Monday 1st March from 4.30pm

08:00 AM - 19 Feb 2021

Retweetd From Marc Belli

Important update👇🏻👇🏻 https://t.co/F2Mp3ijD4b

15:43 PM - 17 Feb 2021

We are looking for a classroom teacher within our ASD Provision and an ALN Teacher to join us in September 2021. Visit our career site for more details https://t.co/AoQb3yRGg5

09:18 AM - 12 Feb 2021

Today is the last day before half term, Monday 15th - Friday 19th February. We wish all families a restful and safe half term break. We look forward to virtually welcoming all students back to school on Monday 22nd February

09:39 AM - 11 Feb 2021

Thursday 11th February: This issue has now been resolved. We thank you for your patience https://t.co/5YVt4jQMtQ

08:55 AM - 11 Feb 2021

Thursday 11th February 8.55am: We are experiencing technical problems with our internet. We hope to resolve this as soon as possible. This may affect live lessons taking place this morning. We apologise for the inconvenience and will update you as soon as this issue is resolved

14:17 PM - 5 Feb 2021

Retweetd From BOLHS_6Form

A reminder that our next virtual Head of 6th Form's Open Door will be on Monday 8th February from 4.30pm. This session is also available for Year 11 students/parents to discuss 6th form options/destinations. To book appointments, please contact bullj.org

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.