@Bishop_Llandaff

10:53 AM - 17 Jul 2021

Great work Year 9, continuing to raise awareness and support for https://t.co/gSWUxWhWfx

16:58 PM - 8 Jul 2021

Our virtual Cathedral Awards Evening is available to view following https://t.co/SkYLPEw7pA from 7.00pm tonight. We hope you will join us in recognising the outstanding work of our students

12:00 PM - 1 Jul 2021

We have been made aware of a confirmed case in Year 10. An email has been sent to all families, with further correspondence to those families of students required to self-isolate

20:52 PM - 29 Jun 2021

INSET DAY: A reminder that Friday 2nd July is a staff training day. As a result, school is closed to all students

10:00 AM - 29 Jun 2021

Retweetd From BOLHS_Year11

A massive good luck to all Year 11 students receiving their provisional GCSE results today. We’re so proud of you all. We’re sorry the usually celebrations could not go ahead this year but we hope you enjoy this Leavers Video 😊. Have a lovely summer! https://t.co/EWsGZulzQI

14:18 PM - 25 Jun 2021

Retweetd From BOLHS Transition

Thank you to all parents who attended the virtual ‘New Parent Evening’ Q&A transition event this evening. It was great to meet so many of you.

16:36 PM - 24 Jun 2021

A reminder that tomorrow, Friday 25th June is Civvies Day in aid of Show Racism The Red Card . Students are encouraged to wear red in support, and bring a £1 donation

20:43 PM - 23 Jun 2021

A reminder that all provisional general GCSE/AS/A level centre determined grades will be shared by email with students on Tuesday 29th June. All grades for non-WJEC vocational qualifications will be published on official results days in August, in line with national expectations

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1407693294507806724

14:33 PM - 23 Jun 2021

Congratulations to our Student Leadership Team for 2021-2022. We know that you will do a great job! https://t.co/aqgX6bDEWV

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.