@Bishop_Llandaff
http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1247125930180567040

12:36 PM - 6 Apr 2020

Retweetd From School Chaplain

This series of reflections for Holy Week starts this morning at 10:00am. We are all invited to join in with them - Diolch am y gwahoddiad https://t.co/bqowUo0n7u

09:30 AM - 3 Apr 2020

Our staff will continue to supervise children in Year 7, 8 and 9 of essential 'key workers' throughout the Easter period at our hub school. We will publish the next wave of distance learning for w/c 20th April on 17th

09:05 AM - 3 Apr 2020

The collection of 'grab and go' meals for eFSM students will finish as of today. For families eligible for a free school meal, you will receive a letter from explaining how you can redeem your food voucher(s). Please keep an eye out

13:32 PM - 2 Apr 2020

Retweetd From Marc Belli

Thank you to Assistant Head, for creating a list of useful sites to support families in dealing with student wellbeing during lockdown. I’m sure it is useful for families too https://t.co/R4Swt0Pjf3

19:19 PM - 30 Mar 2020

Great! Thank you!

18:21 PM - 30 Mar 2020

What a great idea! Please can you send us details of your contact at the Heath so we can see if we can also help?

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1244209637932531712

11:27 AM - 29 Mar 2020

The app is one of the fastest growing platforms during this period of lockdown. While it is a very useful tool, families should be aware of how it can be abused. The National Online Safety poster offers guidance to maintain safe use https://t.co/cPe4WmMnkU

11:53 AM - 28 Mar 2020

Families in Year 10 and 12, please read a letter from Mr Belli regarding the announcement about examinations this summer for GCSE and AS levels. A copy will be emailed today. Click on the link for details https://t.co/HzIO9dpmJx

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1243824382901977088

08:56 AM - 28 Mar 2020

This is why social distancing is so important. Please follow these steps, as they will help reduce the spread of https://t.co/Fl0U9yjmhc

18:11 PM - 27 Mar 2020

Year 10 and 12 families - Welsh Government/Qualifications Wales have this evening made an announcement regarding this summers’ examinations. We will look into this over the next 48 hours and contact families affected in writing

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.