@Bishop_Llandaff
http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1016582385721364480

08:18 AM - 10 Jul 2018

Congratulations to Chloe (Yr 11) who has won the Blue Peter Flying High competition. Her design will be printed on a Red Arrow Pilot Helmet in aid of the RAF's 100 year celebrations. Blue Peter episodes will feature winners on 5th and 19th July at 5.30pm on https://t.co/Vuy5iOpsL8

15:13 PM - 9 Jul 2018

Reminder: Our Sports Day is tomorrow, Tuesday 10th July. Although there will be water available, please can parents ensure that students bring plenty of water to stay hydrated and wear appropriate sun protection

11:03 AM - 9 Jul 2018

Reminder: Our Head of Sixth Form Open Door session is today, Monday 9th July 4.30-6.30pm

11:40 AM - 6 Jul 2018

Due to the remaining high temperatures, we have decided that students can continue to wear their PE kit, as an alternative, for the remainder of the term. Please check emails for details. We are extremely grateful for the support received by parents during this time

16:08 PM - 1 Jul 2018

Please check emails sent today regarding uniform. If there is any change we will contact families on by email and post on Twitter. Thank you for your support https://t.co/OFhfPyaG7g

14:22 PM - 29 Jun 2018

Reminder: Our Headteacher's Open Door session is Monday 2nd July 4.30-6.30pm

21:13 PM - 26 Jun 2018

With temperatures forecast c27-29 degrees for remainder of the week, we have taken to decision to allow our students to wear school PE kit in place of their uniform. We expect usual uniform to be worn from Monday 2nd July (unless otherwise stated). Please check email for details

08:10 AM - 26 Jun 2018

Reminder: All forms and payments for the Oakwood Trip (Monday 23rd July) need to be returned to the office by Friday 29th June

13:48 PM - 25 Jun 2018

Reminder: This year's Bishop's Got Talent is on Thursday 28th June at 7pm. Tickets are on sale from 12.45-1.15pm in the foyer everyday £7 adults, £5 concessions. Get your ticket before it's too late! https://t.co/3FU9zgLRVF

15:23 PM - 21 Jun 2018

Important Update: Buses from today's Bristol Zoo trip (Year 7) have been delayed. Buses are expected back at school between 3.30-3.45pm. All buses will therefore be delayed leaving the school site. We apologise for any inconvenience caused

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.