@Bishop_Llandaff

19:12 PM - 21 Sep 2020

Our Year 13 Information Evening Presentation can be found via our website following the link below https://t.co/Yz5douSpOA

http://www.twitter.com/bishop_llandaff/status/1307963041598799883

09:41 AM - 21 Sep 2020

In the absence of a face-to-face open evening, we have developed a secure area of the school site to support families. You will need to register your interest via Mrs Burke to receive the username and password for the site, which goes live on 8th October. Please RT https://t.co/7Y6Y5xSkFc

16:24 PM - 17 Sep 2020

Our Year 10 Information Evening Presentation can be found via our website, following the link below https://t.co/Yz5douSpOA

19:20 PM - 15 Sep 2020

A letter from Mr Belli, Executive Headteacher, has been sent to all families. Please check your emails or follow the below link https://t.co/SsaNDrWDqx

20:28 PM - 14 Sep 2020

Regrettably, we will not be able to host our Annual Open Evening this year. However, families can now apply to the new Year 7 for September 2021. Please follow the link for the more information, the relevant application form and guide https://t.co/akLipZf4N8

19:57 PM - 14 Sep 2020

Our Year 11 Information Evening Presentation can be found via our website, using the link below https://t.co/Yz5douSpOA

18:41 PM - 11 Sep 2020

Thank you to all Year 11 and Year 13 students for a great week. It has been so good to have you back. We look forward to welcoming all year groups on Monday.

09:44 AM - 7 Sep 2020

A warm welcome to our Year 11 and Year 13 students. Remember all other year groups have distance learning published on our dedicated webpage with work accessible via Microsoft Teams

17:37 PM - 3 Sep 2020

We are all looking forward to welcoming Year 7 and Year 12 students tomorrow.

Inspection Reports

Students, staff and governors at The Bishop of Llandaff have cause for celebration after Estyn and Diocesan inspectors judged the school ‘excellent’ in all categories in its recent inspections.

Inspectors said, “Inspirational leadership, coupled with a strong focus on professional development, has led to outstanding teaching, attainment and student wellbeing”.

The school’s performance is rated so highly as students make outstanding progress in their subject knowledge and skills, while performance in public examinations are “substantially higher than those in similar schools in nearly all indicators”. The performance of more able students, boys and girls, as well as those eligible for free school meals perform notably better than these groups in similar schools, the Estyn report said.

Inspectors also noted that the school has effective procedures in place at the school to help ensure high standards of behaviour by students, describing students’ attitudes to learning as “exemplary”. Inspectors found that students develop leadership skills in a variety of opportunities across the school, while students take part in a very broad range of sporting, cultural and enrichment activities at the school.

Inspectors praised the school’s leadership at all levels in securing consistently very high outcomes and the highest quality of provision. They highlighted the school’s culture of “extremely high expectations which permeates all aspects of school life” while identifying excellent teaching which has a “significant impact on the progress that students make in lessons and in their examination outcomes”.

The section 50, which inspects the school's Christian character, stated "The school provides an outstanding environment for the academic and personal development of all students". The inspection also scrutinises the quality of collective worship and religious education, which were given the highest grades. "Collective worship forms a central feature in the life of the school... Worship is inclusive and connects deeply with the students' own lives", while referring to religious studies, "Students make excellent progress in religious studies... they appreciate the way religious studies opens up their thinking to wider horizons, encouraging them to ask challenging questions".

Headteacher Marc Belli said, “We are very pleased with the outcome of the section 28 (Estyn) and section 50 inspection (The National Society) visits. The judgements awarded are a reflection of the genuine commitment and talent of all members of the school community. I should like to congratulate our students who are a genuine pleasure to work with and are incredible examples of young people in our modern society. The report accurately describes their academic successes, relative to their starting point, and the wider development of all groups of students. I also wish to pay tribute to our incredible staff. We are very fortunate to have such a committed group of teaching and support staff who strive to provide students with a fantastic learning experience which helps them to become the best version of themselves. Our governing body maintains the highest expectations of the school and works tirelessly to support us to achieve these ambitions; and finally, I wish to thank all of our families for the outstanding support we receive”.

Chair of Governors to the school, Reverend Canon Mark Preece stated, “The governing body is very proud of the school’s exceptional achievements. Inspirational leadership at the school has established a very strong culture of continuous improvement built on high quality professional development opportunities for staff. The whole community has worked tirelessly over the past four years and we are delighted with the outcome”.

To view a copy of the section 28 report follow the link. A copy of the section 50 report can be accessed via the link.

Estyn has invited the school to prepare case studies on its work in relation to the leadership of change and quality assurance. This will be shared on Estyn’s website for other schools and providers.